Legal Services Corporation Meeting of the Audit Committee Open Session Monday, April 16, 2012

DRAFT MINUTES

Chairman Victor B. Maddox convened an *open session* meeting of the Legal Services Corporation's ("LSC") Audit Committee ("the Committee") at 2:11 p.m. on Monday, April 16, 2012. The meeting was held at the F. William McCalpin Conference Center, Legal Services Corporation Headquarters, 3333 K Street, NW, Washington, DC 20007.

The following Committee members were present:

Victor B. Maddox, Chairman Harry J.F. Korrell, III Gloria Valencia-Weber David Hoffman Paul L. Snyder John G. Levi, *ex officio*

Other Board Members Present:

Sharon L. Browne Robert J. Grey, Jr., Charles N.W. Keckler Father Pius Pietrzyk Julie A. Reiskin

Also attending were:

James J. Sandman President

Richard Sloane Chief of Staff and Special Assistant to the President

Rebecca Fertig Special Assistant to the President Kathleen McNamara Executive Assistant to the President

Victor M. Fortuno Vice President for Legal Affairs, General Counsel, and Corporate

Secretary

Mattie Cohan Senior Assistant General Counsel, Office of Legal Affairs (OLA)

David Richardson Comptroller and Treasurer

Martin Polacek Accounting Manager, Office of Financial and Administrative

Services (OFAS)

Minutes: April 16, 2012: Open Session Meeting of the Audit Committee

Page 1 of 3

Jeffrey E. Schanz Inspector General

Laurie Tarantowicz Assistant Inspector General and Legal Counsel, Office of Inspector

General (OIG)

Ronald "Dutch" Merryman Assistant Inspector General for Audit, OIG

David Maddox Assistant Inspector General for Management and Evaluation, OIG

Thomas Coogan Assistant Inspector General for Investigations, OIG

Daniel Sheahan Program Evaluation Analyst, OIG
Magali Khalko Resource Management Specialist, OIG

Carol Bergman Director, Office of Government Relations and Public Affairs

(GRPA)

Elizabeth Arledge Communications Manager, GRPA

Treefa Aziz Government Affairs Representative, GRPA Traci Higgins Director, Office of Human Resources (OHR)

Eric Jones Network/System Engineer, Office of Information Technology

(OIT)

LaVon Smith Network/System Engineer, OIT

John Constance Former Director, GRPA

Frank Strickland Former LSC Board Chairman and Non-Director Member of the

LSC Institutional Advancement Committee

Robert Henley, Jr. Non-Director Member of the LSC Audit Committee
Chuck Greenfield National Legal Aid and Defender Association (NLADA)

Terry Brooks American Bar Association's (ABA) Standing Committee on Legal

Aid and Indigent Defendants (SCLAID)

SCLAID

Lisa Wood ABA

Linda Perle Center for Law and Social Policy (CLASP)

The following summarizes actions taken by, and presentations made to, the Committee:

Chairman Maddox called the *open session* meeting to order.

MOTION

Professor Valencia-Weber moved to approve the agenda. Mr. Korrell seconded the motion.

VOTE

The motion passed by voice vote.

Minutes: April 16, 2012: Open Session Meeting of the Audit Committee

Page 2 of 3

MOTION

Mr. Korrell moved to approve the minutes of the Committee's March 15, 2012 telephonic

meeting. Professor Valencia-Weber seconded the motion.

VOTE

The motion passed by voice vote.

Chairman Maddox led the discussion on proposed changes to the Committee's charter,

noting that the Office of Inspector General had concerns that needed to be addressed. After

discussion, it was agreed that the OIG would provide comments on the latest version of the draft

charter, and the Committee would hold a meeting prior to July to move towards finalizing the

charter for adoption.

Ms. Higgins gave a report on the quarterly review of LSC's 403(b) plan performance.

The Inspector General briefing was given by Mr. Schanz and Mr. Merryman concerning

the upcoming corporate audit and the selection of an auditor, as well as the quality control

review process that the OIG has undertaken.

Mr. Richardson gave a briefing on travel procedures.

Chairman Maddox invited public comment and received none. There was no new

business to consider.

MOTION

Mr. Hoffman moved to adjourn the meeting. Mr. Korrell seconded the motion.

VOTE

The motion passed by voice vote.

The *open session* meeting of the Committee adjourned at 3:46 p.m.