# Legal Services Corporation Meeting of the Operations and Regulations Committee Open Session Monday, April 16, 2012

## **DRAFT MINUTES**

Chairman Charles N.W. Keckler convened an *open session* meeting of the Legal Services Corporation's ("LSC") Operations and Regulations Committee ("the Committee") at 10:56 a.m. on Monday, April 16, 2012. The meeting was held at the F. William McCalpin Conference Center, Legal Services Corporation Headquarters, 3333 K Street, NW, Washington, DC 20007.

The following Committee members were present:

Charles N.W. Keckler, Chairman Robert J. Grey, Jr. Harry J.F. Korrell, III Laurie I. Mikva John G. Levi, *ex officio* 

Other Board Members present:

Sharon L. Browne Victor B. Maddox Martha L. Minow Father Pius Pietrzyk Julie A. Reiskin Gloria Valencia-Weber

Also attending were:

James J. Sandman	President
Richard Sloane	Chief of Staff and Special Assistant to the President
Rebecca Fertig	Special Assistant to the President
Kathleen McNamara	Executive Assistant to the President
Victor M. Fortuno	Vice President for Legal Affairs, General Counsel, and Corporate
	Secretary
Mattie Cohan	Senior Assistant General Counsel, Office of Legal Affairs (OLA)

Minutes: April 16, 2012: Open Session Meeting of the Operations and Regulations Committee Page 1 of 4

Mark Freedman	Senior Assistant General Counsel, OLA
Atitaya Rok	Staff Attorney, OLA
David Richardson	Comptroller and Treasurer
Jeffrey E. Schanz	Inspector General
Laurie Tarantowicz	Assistant Inspector General and Legal Counsel, OIG
David Maddox	Assistant Inspector General for Management and Evaluation, OIG
Ronald "Dutch" Merryman	Assistant Inspector General for Audit, OIG
Daniel Sheahan	Program Evaluation Analyst, OIG
Magali Khalko	Resource Management Specialist, OIG
Carl Rauscher	Director of Media Relations, Office of Government Relations and
Call Rausener	Public Affairs (GRPA)
Elizabeth Arledge	Communications Manager, GRPA
Treefa Aziz	Government Affairs Representative, GRPA
Jean Edwards	Administrative Assistant, Office of Information Management
	(OIM)
Eric Jones	Network/System Engineer, Office of Information Technology
	(OIT)
LaVon Smith	Network/System Engineer, OIT
Lora Rath	Acting Director, Office of Compliance and Enforcement (OCE)
Janet LaBella	Director, Office of Program Performance (OPP)
Glenn Rawdon	Program Counsel, OPP
Jane Ribadeneyra	Program Analyst, OPP
John Constance	Former Director, GRPA
Tom Smegal	Friends of LSC and Non-Director Member of the LSC Institutional
	Advancement Committee
Robert Henley, Jr.	Non-Director Member of the LSC Finance Committee
Hannah Lieberman	Executive Director, Neighborhood Legal Services
Chuck Greenfield	National Legal Aid and Defender Association (NLADA)
Don Saunders	NLADA
Terry Brooks	American Bar Association's Standing Committee on Legal Aid
	and Indigent Defendants (SCLAID)
Linda Perle	Center for Law and Social Policy (CLASP)
Jeffrey Morningstar	Director, Office of Information Technology (OIT)

The following summarizes actions taken by, and presentations made to, the Committee:

Chairman Keckler called the *open session* meeting to order and noted the presence of a quorum.

## **MOTION**

Mr. Grey moved to approve the agenda. Ms. Mikva seconded the motion.

#### VOTE

The motion passed by voice vote.

### **MOTION**

Mr. Grey moved to approve the minutes of the Committee's February 29, 2012 telephonic meeting. Ms. Mikva seconded the motion.

#### **VOTE**

The motion passed by voice vote.

Ms. Cohan gave a report on the current status of the open rulemaking on enforcement mechanisms and answered Committee members' questions. Ms. Cohan then presented a memorandum and a resolution on Board policy on LSC promulgations for the Committee's consideration.

## **MOTION**

Board Chairman Levi moved to recommend to the Board to adopt the resolution establishing a policy on required Board notice and approval of certain LSC promulgations, as amended by Ms. Reiskin. Ms. Mikva seconded the motion.

### VOTE

The motion passed by voice vote.

Mr. Freedman presented a rulemaking options paper on possible amendment of LSC's regulation on subgrants, 45 CFR Part 1627, and answered Committee members' questions with Mr. Rawdon's assistance.

#### **MOTION**

Committee Chairman Keckler moved to accept and recommend to the full Board LSC management's recommendation to engage in rulemaking on the subgrant regulation, but not on third party contracting. Mr. Grey seconded the motion.

## VOTE

The motion passed by voice vote.

Ms. Cohan gave a brief report on Board policies and protocols, and she then presented a revised draft of the contributions protocol for the Committee's consideration. After some discussion on the contributions protocol, Chairman Keckler tabled the matter with instructions to management.

Chairman Keckler solicited public comments and heard from Mr. Brooks, SCLAID, and Mr. Greenfield, NLADA.

## **MOTION**

Mr. Grey moved to adjourn the meeting. Ms. Mikva seconded the motion.

### **VOTE**

The motion passed by voice vote.

The open session meeting of the Committee adjourned at 12:23 p.m.