Each depositor insured to at least $250,000 per insured bank

Home > About FDIC > Advisory Committee on Economic Inclusion (ComE-IN)

Advisory Committee on Economic Inclusion (ComE-IN)  

The Advisory Committee on Economic Inclusion (ComE-IN) was established by Chairman Sheila C. Bair and the FDIC Board of Directors pursuant to the Federal Advisory Committee Act. The Committee was chartered in November 2006.  The Committee is to provide the FDIC with advice and recommendations on important initiatives focused on expanding access to banking services by underserved populations. This may include reviewing basic retail financial services such as check cashing, money orders, remittances, stored value cards, short-term loans, savings accounts, and other services that promote asset accumulation by individuals and financial stability.

 Videos/Webcast of Advisory Committee Meetings (Video Help)

Advisory Committee Meetings

Date Meeting Information Documents
12/13/2012 Banks' Efforts to Serve the Unbanked and Underbanked Agenda - HTML
09/12/2012 FDIC's National Survey of Unbanked and Underbanked Households, Mobile Financial Services, and Model Safe Accounts Agenda  HTML
Minutes - PDF
04/26/2012 FDIC's Model Safe Accounts Pilot, Prepaid Cards and Mobile Financial Services Agenda  HTML
Minutes - PDF
12/01/2011 Evolving Trends in Financial Services: Opportunities and Challenges for the Underserved Agenda  HTML
Minutes - PDF
06/02/2011 The State of Economic Inclusion and the Way Forward Agenda  HTML
Minutes - PDF
03/02/2011 Principles for LMI Mortgage Lending, Teaching Financial Education, and Policy and Project Updates Agenda  HTML
Minutes - PDF
11/16/2010 Children's Savings, Underserved Studies, and Policy and Project Updates Agenda  HTML
Minutes - PDF
06/24/2010 Small Dollar Loan Pilot Program Final Results; Safe Transactional and Savings Account Proposed Templates; Policy and Project Updates Agenda  HTML
Minutes - PDF
04/01/2010 Safe Transaction and Savings Products and Strategic Planning Agenda  HTML
Minutes - PDF
12/02/2009 Results of the FDIC National Unbanked and Underbanked Household Survey, Overdraft Issues, and Strategic Focus for the Committee Agenda  HTML
Minutes - PDF 1047k
07/30/2009 Prize-linked Savings and Issues and Challenges Related to Reaching Out to Underserved and Low- and Moderate-Income Consumers Agenda  HTML
Minutes - PDF 612k
02/05/2009 Strategies to Increase Access to the Financial Mainstream Agenda  HTML
Transcript - PDF 472k
Minutes - PDF 879k
07/09/2008 Strategies for Encouraging Mortgage Lending for Low and Moderate Income Households Agenda  HTML
Minutes - PDF 578k
03/19/2008 Asset Building Opportunities for Individuals and Banks Agenda  HTML | PDF
Minutes - PDF 885k
10/24/2007 Money Services Businesses – Access to the Banking System Agenda  HTML | PDF
Minutes - PDF
07/16/2007 Subprime Mortgage Situation - How Did We Get Here and
What Can We Do?
Agenda  HTML | PDF
Minutes - PDF
03/28/2007 Small Dollar Lending Agenda  HTML | PDF
Minutes - PDF

PDF Help - Information on downloading and using the PDF reader.

Advisory Committee Members
Robert A. Annibale Global Director,
Citi Microfinance and Community Development

Michael S. Barr
Professor of Law,
University of Michigan Law School

Ted Beck, President and CEO,
National Endowment for Financial Education (NEFE)

Kelvin Boston, Executive Producer and Host of PBS' Moneywise with Kelvin Boston

José Cisneros, Treasurer,
City and County of San Francisco

Martin Eakes, Chief Executive Officer,
Self-Help/Center for Responsible Lending

Floyd H. Flake, Senior Pastor,
Greater Allen A.M.E. Cathedral of New York

Lawrence K. Fish, Former Chairman and CEO of Citizens Financial Group, Inc.

Ester R. Fuchs, Professor,
School of International and Public Affairs,
Columbia University

Wade Henderson, President and CEO,
Leadership Conference on Civil Rights, and Counselor to the Leadership Conference on Civil Rights Education Fund
Andrea Levere, President,
Corporation for Enterprise Development

Alden J. McDonald, Jr., President and CEO of Liberty Bank and Trust Company, New Orleans, LA

Bruce D. Murphy, Executive Vice President and President, Community Development Banking, KeyBank, N.A.

Manuel Orozco, Senior Associate at the Inter-American Dialogue; and Senior Researcher, Institute for the Study of International Migration, Georgetown University

John W. Ryan, Executive Vice President,
Conference of State Bank Supervisors

Michael Shepherd, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Bank of the West and BancWest Corporation

Robert K. Steel, Deputy Mayor for Economic Development, The City of New York

Peter Tufano, Peter Moores Dean and Professor of Finance, Saïd Business School, Oxford University and Founder and CEO of D2D Fund.

John, C. Weicher, Director, Center for Housing and Financial Markets, Hudson Institute

Deborah C. Wright, Chairman and CEO,
Carver Bancorp, Inc.

Committee Charter and Purpose 

Other Documents

Last Updated 12/26/2012 come-in@fdic.gov