Advanced Search

          Medical Genetics: Translating Genes Into Health® 


The American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) made significant changes to maintenance of certification (MOC) in 2006. These changes are being implemented by the American Board of Medical Genetics (ABMG). All diplomates who are currently active in the ABMG MOC program (those certified in 1993 and 1996) or currently holding a time-limited certificate (certified 1993 and later) are required to transition into the new MOC program. Individuals with lifetime certificates are encouraged to participate in MOC as a means of maintaining and demonstrating their level of excellence as will increasingly be required by various agencies and health care payers. In addition, all training program directors are required to participate in maintenance of certification regardless of whether or not they hold a time-limited certificate.


There are four basic components of MOC.


  • Part I: Professionalism
  • Part II: Self Evaluation
  • Part III: Cognitive Expertise
  • Part IV: Performance in Practice.


For ABMG Diplomates


ABMG is responsible for delivering Parts I – III. Part IV credits can be obtained from various sources that are approved by ABMG and ABMS. As the lead practice organization for medical geneticists, ACMG has developed a set of modules through which medical geneticists are able to demonstrate and evaluate their excellence in practice, identify areas for improvement, and document this improvement. Most are derived from practice guidelines or expert opinion specific to genetic diseases or patient presentations for genetic evaluation. Laboratory geneticists may also use their laboratory inspections, licensure and proficiency testing data as a component of their Part IV requirements. Part IV will begin in 2010.


Individuals may complete as many modules as they like but should keep in mind that the ABMG MOC requirements specify that a minimum of one Part IV activity/module be completed approximately every three years during a 10-year cycle.

  • Individuals certified in 2002/2003 will be required to successfully complete one (1) Part IV module between 2010 and 2012.
  • Individuals certified in 2005 will be required to successfully complete two (2) Part IV modules between 2010 and 2015.
  • Individuals certified in 2007 will be required to successfully complete two (2) Part IV modules between 2010 and 2017.
    At least one must be completed between 2010 and 2013 and one between 2014 and 2017.
  • Those certified or re-certified in 2009 or after will be required to successfully complete three (3) Part IV modules between 2010 and 2019 or 
    within their 10-year cycle according to the following schedule:  complete a minimum of one activity in year 1-3; complete a minimum of one activity in years 4-7; complete a minimum o fone activity in years 8-10.
  • Individuals certified in 2011 or later will be required to successfully complete three (3) Part IV modules within their 10-year cycle.


For more information about the requirements for ABMG Diplomates, please click here.


Although activities will be scored as means of demonstrating practice improvement, grades are not issued. However, participation is required.


Already completed a module? Click here to give us your feedback.


Part IV Practice Module Process





Home | Terms & Conditions Social Media Policy and Terms of Use | Contact Us | Webmaster | Site Map
7220 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 300 | Bethesda, MD 20814
Telephone: 301-718-9603 | Fax: 301-718-9604 | E-mail: | Website:
© 2001-2013 American College of Medical Genetics and Genomics All rights reserved.