



CIGIE Awards – 2012

Order of Events

Presentation of Colors and National Anthem

Welcoming Remarks

Scott Dahl CIGIE Awards Program Co-Chair Inspector General Smithsonian Institution

Keynote Address

PAUL LIGHT Paulette Goddard Professor of Public Service New York University - Wagner

Special Category Awards Presentation

THE HONORABLE JEFFREY ZIENTS CIGIE Executive Chair Deputy Director for Management and Acting Director Office of Management and Budget

Alexander Hamilton Award Gaston L. Gianni, Jr. Better Government Award Glenn/Roth Exemplary Service Award Sentner Award for Dedication and Courage Individual Accomplishment Award

CIGIE Awards Presentation

The Honorable Phyllis K. Fong CIGIE Chair, Inspector General Department of Agriculture

> CARL A. CLINEFELTER CIGIE Vice Chair Inspector General Farm Credit Administration

Closing Remarks

THE HONORABLE I. CHARLES MCCULLOUGH CIGIE Awards Program Co-Chair Inspector General Intelligence Community

Message from the Chair and the Vice Chair

Welcome to the annual awards ceremony of the Inspector General community and of the Council of the Inspectors General on Integrity and Efficiency. We are privileged to be here today to recognize the range of accomplishments of our member agencies.

Public service is a rewarding and noble calling. Today we honor those in our community who have distinguished themselves in their endeavors and who have contributed to the well-being of the Nation. In so many ways, our community of dedicated people touches the life of every American every day – from meeting such basic human needs as food, shelter, and medical care; to creating a strong economy and infrastructure with access to education, arts, and science; to strengthening America's position at home and abroad.

And so, we congratulate this year's winners, who exemplify the best in public service. You have been chosen by your peers for your dedication, leadership, and hard work. You have taken risks, persevered, partnered with others, and faced unforeseen challenges. Thank you for everything you have done for the American people.

> PHYLLIS K. FONG Chair Myllis K. Ing

Carl A. Clinefelter Vice Chair

Carla. Clinefelter

Audit Award for Excellence

Agency for International Development USAID/OIG for the Millennium Challenge Corporation Team

Christopher Bertels Auditor

Alvin Brown Assistant Inspector General for the Millennium Challenge Corporation

James Charlifue Deputy Assistant Inspector General for the Millennium Challenge Corporation

> Nadine Forgenie Auditor

Robert Fry Director, Performance Audit Division

> Marshall Henderson Auditor

Roosevelt Holt Auditor

Jennifer Huynh Auditor

Mamesho Macaulay Lead Auditor

> Paula Mathews Lead Auditor

Walt Norko Engineer, U.S. Army Corp. of Engineers

Mark Norman Acting Deputy Assistant Inspector General for Audit

Donna Rosa Lead Auditor

For Excellence in Teamwork and Professionalism Leading to Improvements in MCC Funded Compact Projects

USAID/OIG Health Services Program Audit Team

Tim Cox OIG/Afghanistan Director

Abdul Raheem Saboori Auditor

> Shafiullah Rahimi Auditor

> > For highly distinguished audit work that helped USAID and the Afghan Government improve health care in Afghanistan

Steven Ramonas Senior Lead Auditor

Sonjai ReynoldsCooper Program Analyst

> Clare Sabo Program Analyst

U.S. Department of Agriculture USDA Country of Origin Labeling Team

Juanica R. Armstrong Auditor

> Randy S. Evans Senior Auditor

Joseph E. Mickiewicz Assistant Audit Director, Food, Nutrition, and Development Division

John W. Pepper Audit Director, Midwest Region Marketing

Stephanie Y. Goings Auditor

> In recognition of outstanding efforts to help USDA ensure that consumers are informed of food products' country of origin

U.S. Department of Commerce Joint Polar Satellite System Audit Team

Todd Coleman Auditor

Allen R. Crawley Assistant Inspector General for Systems Acquisition and IT Security

> Richard Krasner Senior Satellite Analyst

Ian M. Marenna Assistant Counsel

Frederick J. Meny Director for Satellites and Weather Systems

> Kevin D. Ryan IT Specialist

Katherine A. Smith Auditor

In recognition of exemplary achievement in identifying critical weaknesses to Congress and Department leadership concerning NOAA's management and acquisition of the multibillion dollar Joint Polar Satellite System

National Aeronautics and Space Administration NASA OIG Information Technology Services Team

James Akers Software Engineer

Charles Cephas Manager, Infrastructure Services

Steve Clevenger Manager, Application Services

Chris Han Director, Information Technology Services Edwin Noell Systems Engineer

Terence Puls Systems Engineer

Michael Riddle Software Engineer

William Todd Software Engineer

In recognition of the delivery of high quality, innovative, and cost effective information technology solutions in support of the NASA OIG and the larger CIGIE community

Investigations Award for Excellence

Agency for International Development USAID/OIG Investigation Team of Former USAID Comptroller

Christian Assaad Special Agent

Darci Blakley Assistant Special Agent in Charge

> Brendon Bradshaw Special Agent

Marvin Burgos Special Agent

Thaddeus Corley Special Agent

> Edward Peay Special Agent

In recognition of outstanding investigative teamwork

U.S. Department of Agriculture Michigan Bridge Card Enforcement Team

Syed Ahmed Assistant Attorney General, Michigan Attorney General

> Debra D. Barbour Investigative Technician

Kenneth Beebe Special Agent, Internal Revenue Service Criminal Investigation

> Robert M. Bell Special Agent

Stan Bien Director, Michigan Women, Infants, and Children Program Caleb J. Casselman Special Agent

Stephanie Cleland Detective Sergeant, Michigan State Police

Billy Davis Detective Specialist, Michigan State Police

> Travis L. Deters Special Agent

Luane Goodman Departmental Analyst, Michigan Women, Infants, and Children Program Council of the Inspectors General on Integrity and Efficiency

Denise Hart Assistant Attorney General, Michigan Attorney General

> Jeremiah Haynie Special Agent, Internal Revenue Service Criminal Investigation

Lee Janice Assistant United States Attorney, U.S. Department of Justice

Nils Kessler Assistant United States Attorney, U.S. Department of Justice

Del Kostenko Sergeant, Lansing Police Department

Jill Kraczon Officer, Lansing Police Department

Andrew W. LaFleur Assistant Special Agent in Charge

Ross MacKenzie Assistant United States Attorney, U.S. Department of Justice

> Mark W. McClutchey Special Agent

Jeffery L. Nickols Special Agent Lisa Piotrowski Supervisory Officer in Charge, Food and Nutrition Service

> Rene Shekmer Assistant United States Attorney, U.S. Department of Justice

> > Jenna L. Shiver Special Agent

Michael Skaer Officer in Charge, Food and Nutrition Service

> Joe N. Smith Special Agent in Charge

Graham Teall Assistant United States Attorney, U.S. Department of Justice

Christopher Varner Assistant United States Attorney, U.S. Department of Justice

James Walsh Senior Investigator, Food and Nutrition Service

> Craig Weier Assistant United States Attorney, U.S. Department of Justice

In recognition of the coordinated efforts by Federal, State and local law enforcement to combat USDA nutrition program fraud throughout Michigan

Amtrak

Kimberly Kudym Special Agent

In recognition of an extensive and complex civil investigation resulting in a \$100,000 Federal civil settlement by a contractor that failed to properly service Amtrak locomotives as required leading to increased diesel fuel costs for Amtrak

U.S. Department of Defense

Keith E. Darnell Special Agent

In recognition of unequaled and tireless leadership that resulted in the successful False Claims Act investigation of ATK for selling the DoD 76,000 defective illumination combat flares with a civil settlement of \$36.9 million