Genealogy: Ethnic Heritage
See also the Ethnic Heritage Bibliography for a list of books related to immigrant family research available in the Archives I Library in Washington, DC.
See also:- How to Do Genealogical Research: NARA and Other Federal Web Sites
- Other Helpful Genealogy Sites
- Resources & Searchable Databases
- Vital Records
Contents
- African-American
- Asian
- Australia and New Zealand
- British Isles
- Eastern European and Russian
- French-Canadian
- Hispanic: Central and South America, Mexico, Caribbean, and the West Indies
- Jewish
- Native American
- Western European
African-American
AsianAfrican American Cemeteries Online
Listing of African American cemeteries. One of Family Tree Magazine’s "101 Best Web sites."AfriGeneas
A site to research genealogy from Africa to the Americas.Afro-Louisiana History and Genealogy: 1719-1820
This web site provides a searchable database for African-Americans from the Louisiana area.Alabama African American Genealogy Research
A comprehensive list of all Alabama genealogy resources. This web site provides a complete and easily navigable list of important records and databases.Black Family Research: Using the Records of Post-Civil War Federal Agencies at the National Archives
NARA Reference Information Paper 108, by Reginald Washington.Christine’s Genealogy Page
Genealogy.com has linked to many of the sections of Christine’s Genealogy Page. This page provides state-by-state census transcriptions, cemetery transcriptions, and emigration information. There is also a page dedicated to essays and letters regarding African-American connections to Africa. The 1860 Noxubee County, Missippi Mortality Schedule of slave deaths is a fascinating resource.Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System
This National Park Service web site includes information on the more than 230,000 African-American troops who served in the Civil War.Documentation of Slavery and the Slave Trade in Federal Records
An article by Walter Hill in the Winter 2000 issue of NARA’s magazine, Prologue.Documenting African Americans in the Records of Military Agencies
An article by Lisha Penn in the Summer 1997 special issue of NARA’s magazine, Prologue.Freedmen’s Bureau Records: An Overview
An article by Elaine C. Everly in the Summer 1997 special issue of NARA’s magazine, Prologue.Freedmen’s Savings and Trust Company and African American Genealogical Research
An article by Reginald Washington in the Summer 1997 special issue of NARA’s magazine, Prologue.Georgia African-American Genealogy
Georgia state and county records of slaves and their descendants have been brought together in this web page. Contains lists of county slave records, black soldiers in the Civil War, ex-slave marriages, "free people of color", census records, cemetery records, marriage records, historic essays, and much more.Marriage Registers of Freedmen
Elaine Everly, NARA staff member, wrote this article on Freedman's marriage registers, an invaluable source of family history, for the Fall 1973 issue of Prologue.People of Color South
This is a listserv where genealogists can communicate with other genealogical researchers with African American ancestors, including posting of family lines, asking questions about historic events, and posting documented information such as wills, slave lists, Bible records and just about anything that would fit in the realm of genealogy.Register of Free Blacks: Augusta County, Virginia
A complete register of the sightings of black men freed in Augusta County, Virginia. Each registration entry includes proof of the man's freedom, where he was spotted, and a thorough physical description.Resting Places of United States Colored Troops
A compilation of the final resting places for "colored" Civil War Army and Navy Veterans. This list includes soldiers that did not die in battle. Available on the "Freedom Fighters:" United States Colored Troops in the Civil War web site.The Rost Home Colony, St. Charles Parish, Louisiana
This article by Michael Knight on the Freedmen's Bureau appeared in the Fall 2001 issue of NARA's magazine Prologue.Slaves and the Courts 1740-1860
This Library of Congress site contains over 100 pamphlets and books concerning legal issues relating to African-American slaves.
Australia and New ZealandAsiaGenWeb
Part of the WorldGenWeb, this site links to genealogical information sources in Asian countries from Turkmenistan in the west to East Timor in the east.Chinese Genealogical Resources
Lists and describes books and web sites useful in studying Chinese family histories.Chinese Immigration and Chinese in the United States
National Archives Reference Information Paper No. 99. A good starting point for Chinese-American researchers.Chinese in California, 1850-1925
This Library of Congress American Memory collection illustrates 19th and early 20th century Chinese immigration to California through about 8000 images and pages of primary source materials.Chinese Research
Genealogy.com provides contact information, web sites, and books to assist in Chinese genealogy research.Chinese Surnames
This site contains links found in the Bai Jia Xing (the Hundred Families Surnames). There is also a list in alphabetical order, in whatever form the names were Anglicized. The surname pages contain links and references to genealogies, family name associations, generation names, home pages, and other references to persons of particular surnames.Japan GenWeb
This web site contains links to Japanese genealogical web sites in English, Spanish and Japanese. Research on Japanese family heritage can also be done according to Japanese prefecture.Japanese Research
Genealogy.com provides contact information, web sites, and books to assist in Japanese genealogy research.Stuart Terashita’s Japanese-American Genealogy Home Page
This web site offers advice for Japanese-Americans on beginning their genealogical searches in the U.S. using: Social Security Administration information, death certificates, ship manifests, funeral home information, cemetery listings, obituaries, and World War II Internment Records. It also offers advice on how to uncover family history using Japanese web pages and records.
British IslesArchives New Zealand Reference Guides
The National Archives of New Zealand provides information and research advice on important genealogical resources. These genealogical resources include: immigration records, probates, coroner’s reports, notices of intention to marry, and military service records prior to 1913. This site also includes links to birth, death, and marriage certificates; newspapers; personal files of soldiers who served in the armed forces from the Boer War up to the present day; and electoral rolls.Australasian Genealogy
The Australasian Genealogy Web (AGWeb) network provides access to regionally located Australasian genealogy sources, data and references. Searchable by name index or category of research.Australian Family History Compendium
This site is a gateway to the basic repositories and resources for Australian genealogical research.Australian Family History and Genealogy on the Internet
This web site is produced by the National Library of Australia. Provides extensive links to Australian and worldwide genealogy resources.Family History
The National Archives of Australia has created this web site, which provides guidance on how to do family history research. It also provides guides to researching immigration, armed services, and indigenous records.Kintalk
A blog presented by the Auckland City Libraries. It describes resources available at the libraries and beyond.
Eastern European and RussianDistantCousin.com
Links to web sites with information on census records, cemeteries, military records, and other useful sources for English genealogy.Electric Scotland
A guide to over 2000 Scottish clans and families.Firstmom’s Genealogy Resources
A list of web sites relating to English and Welsh genealogy.GENUKI: UK & Ireland Genealogical Information Service
This hubsite for accessing records in the British Isles is a quick and handy resource for genealogists.Irish Genealogical Society International
Non-profit organization claims members in all fifty states as well as ten foreign countries. Offers resources and assistance to members researching their Irish heritage.National Archives of Ireland: Genealogy
A guide to using the records of the Irish National Archives, including census returns and birth, marriage, and death certificates.National Archives UK - Family History
A guide to family history research at the National Archives of the United Kingdom. Includes tips on getting started, advice from experts, and online resources.Origins.net
Allows searches of census and other data for Irish, British, and Scottish genealogical research.Scots Family
Scots Family assists in searches within originial Scottish records for information on ancestors.Scottish Emigration Database
This database contains the records of over 21,000 passengers who embarked at Glasgow and Greenock for non-European ports between 1 January and 30 April 1923, and at other Scottish ports between 1890 and 1960.Scottish Genealogy
Links to Scottish records, maps, newspapers, and other reference sources.Sources for Research in Scottish Genealogy
The Library of Congress lists sources available there and at other large libraries for researching Scottish ancestry.Tracing your Scottish Ancestry
Links to several sites useful for Scottish genealogy.Welsh Genealogy
Links to resources, services, and societies that focus specifically on Welsh genealogy.Wiltshire and Swindon Archive
Information on beginning family history research in Britain, and about the records held in the WSRO.
French-CanadianEast Europe GenWeb
Interactive genealogy site providing information on Russia, Northern and Eastern Europe.East European Genealogical Society
The East European Genealogical Society provides genealogical information for people of German, Ukrainian, Polish, Czech, Slovakian, Jewish, Mennonite, and Romanian descent.Europe Genealogy Links
This site provides lists of links based on country of origin. Also includes links to European passenger lists, cemeteries, and census data.Federation of East European Family History Societies
Genealogists can find information on Eastern Europe from Armenia to the Ukraine.Odessa: A German-Russian Genealogical Library
Well-researched and useful library of genealogical information.Poland Border Surnames
This web site has been designed to assist those searching for family in and along the borders of Poland. One of G100's "Top 100 Genealogy" sites.Polish Genealogical Society of America
The Society’s mission is to collect, disseminate and preserve information on Polish and Polish-American family history and to help its members use that information in their own research.
Polish Genealogical Society of Texas: Genealogy Resources
Resources include Surname Database, Maps and Geographic Locators, Organizations, PGSA Resource Center, Polish Resources, Texas Resources, and Discussion Lists.
SGGEE: The Society for German Genealogy in Eastern Europe
This webpage is "devoted to the study of those people with German ancestry... who originated in the areas of present day Ukraine and Poland or the areas formerly known as East and West Prussia, Posen, Silesia, Pomerania, and Volhynia."
Hispanic: Central and South America, Mexico, Caribbean, and the West IndiesAmerican-French Genealogical Society
This is the home site of the non-profit genealogical and historical organization devoted to Americans of French-Canadian extraction.Canadian Genealogy & History
Searchable by province, this site is an excellent reference for Canadian online genealogy sources.Canadian Genealogy Centre
The online Canadian Genealogy Centre, a result of cooperation between the National Archives of Canada, the National Library of Canada, and the Department of Canadian Heritage, provides a unique point of access to Canadian genealogical resources on the Internet.Counting Heads Around the World: The Genealogy of International Census Databases (Canada)
This Searcher article by David Mattison, Access Services Archivist, British Columbia Archives, provides a wealth of online Canadian family history research resources. Included on the site are links to general census guides, databases, and population statistics.DistantCousin.com: French Genealogy Resources
Offers helpful links and resources as well as search capabilities.Fichier Origine
The database of vital records of French and foreign immigrants who settled in Quebec from the beginnings of the colony to 1865. This website is presented in French.Francogene
Your gateway to Franco-American and French-Canadian Genealogy on the Internet.French Canadian Heritage Society of California
Fosters interest in French-Canadian heritage through genealogical research. Affiliated with the Southern California Genealogical Society.National Archives of Canada - Genealogy Centre
Suggestions for using the genealogical records of the Canadian National Archives.Programme de Recherche en Démographie Historique
Information on Quebec's population in the 17th and 18th centuries. Hosted by the University of Montreal.Projet GenWeb du Québec
An online collection of genealogy data. This project is part of the Canada GenWeb.Quebec Family History Society
Non-profit organization is dedicated to Quebec genealogy. Site offers membership information and resources for research.Vermont French-Canadian Genealogical Society
Homepage provides details about the society as well as assistance with research of ancestry.
JewishAnillo de Genealogica Hispana (Hispanic Genealogy Ring)
Hispanic genealogy information provided in Spanish. Contains links to heraldry, regional information, local history, genealogy assocations, and an extensive list of surname resources.Caribbean Genealogy Research
This web page provides a list of genealogy links for each country in the Caribbean.Cuban Genealogy Center
A genealogical web site dedicated to people of Cuban descent only. This web site provides valuable pointers for getting started, cemetery records, church records, military records, passenger lists, Cuban phone books, and indices to the history of Cuban families the country. A list of published resources is also provided.Cyndi’s List of Hispanic, South, and Central American Genealogy sites: Including Mexico, Latin America & the Caribbean
One of the most respected genealogy resources on the Internet. Cyndi’s list provides general Hispanic genealogy resources as well as information for individual countries.Puerto Rican Hispanic Genealogical Society
This organization was founded "to enable Puerto Ricans, Hispanics and other interested persons develop and enhance their skills, knowledge and ability to conduct a competent genealogical search for their ancestors."
Western EuropeanAmerican Jewish Historical Society
Of particular interest will be the Genealogy page.American Sephardi Federation
The American Sephardi Federation (ASF) is a national Jewish organization dedicated to strengthening and unifying the American Sephardic community and promoting its spiritual, cultural and social traditions.Avotaynu
This company publishes journals, books, videos, and other sources to assist in Jewish genealogical research.Center for Jewish History Ackman and Ziff Family Genealogy Institute
The CJH Ackman and Ziff Family Genealogy Institute offers help in Jewish genealogical research, and occasionally presents workshops in conducting effective genealogical searches.Genealogy Archives
The Jewish Genealogy portion of the Genealogy Archives lists and describes several useful sources for research.International Association of Jewish Genealogical Societies
The International Association of Jewish Genealogical Societies (IAJGS) is a non-profit organization dedicated to the coordination of the activities of more than 75 national and local Jewish genealogical societies around the world.International Jewish Cemetery Project
The project describes its mission as an attempt "to catalogue every Jewish burial site throughout the world."Jewish Genealogical Society, Inc.
Non-profit society based in New York City provides information on meetings, conferences, and resources.Jewish Genealogy Links
A comprehensive listing of publications, web sites, archives, and other resources relating specifically to Jewish genealogy.Jewish Web Index
Jewish Web Index is a compendium of thousands of links and bits and pieces of information -- all relating to researching one’s Jewish rootsJewishGen
The primary internet source connecting researchers of Jewish genealogy worldwide.Leo Baeck Institute
The Leo Baeck Institute is a research, study, and lecture center whose library and archives offer the most comprehensive documentation for the study of German Jewish history.Louis Kessler’s Jewish Genealogy Links
Gathers links to the most useful Jewish genealogy web sites.SephardicGen Resources
Focuses specifically on Jews of Sephardic ancestry, with articles, links, and book descriptions available.Stammbaum: Journal of German-Jewish Genealogical Research
An English-language publication that supports research and publication of reliable German-Jewish family histories.YIVO Institute for Jewish Research
YIVO is devoted to the history, society, and culture of Ashkenazic Jewry, and the influence of that culture as it has developed in the Americas. YIVO is the preeminent center for the study of East European Jewry and Yiddish language, literature, and folklore.
See also additional genealogical material:France Genealogy Links
Researchers seeking information on French ancestry can search by region or throughout France on this web site. Includes current French phone books and an atlas of French heraldry on line.Genealand
This portal web site provides access to European surnames, heraldry, genealogy and history.Genealogy.net
This web site provide links to German genealogy in German and English. Provides: sample letters to German resources, regional resources, German societies, emigration information, place lookups, and local heritage bibliographies. This web site also offers German unit conversion charts and definitions of German terminology and symbols.German Genealogy Links
This web site provides a list of German Genealogy Links on the internet.GermanRoots: German Genealogy Resources
Includes "The Best German Resources" for Americans of German descent. Provides passenger list from pre-1820 to the 1940s, census clues from 1790 to 1930, and a German genealogy bookstore.Germany GenWeb Project
Provides genealogy information for Germany and any neighboring European country. This web site includes family lineages, databases, maps, ship lists, Kingdom of Prussia resources, a map of Civil Registration, and the "WhatUseek Site Search Engine."The Italian Genealogical Society of America
Provides information on Italian heritage, how to find ancestors and even living relatives on both sides of the Atlantic, how to get started with the basic methods and resources of genealogy, and advanced research techniques from professionals in the field.The Italian Genealogy Home Page
This page contains a wealth of information for those Italian-Americans who would like to trace their family’s roots.Italian Genealogy Online
This site provides a number of resources for genealogist to find information on the Internet including: form letters for important Italian organizations, an Italian surname message board, examples of Italian ancestry family trees, Italy FAQ’s, and "Tips for Italian Records, Archives, and Italian Family Tree Search."Italy GenWeb
This web site provides Italian genealogy resources searchable by surname, province, or region of origin. Guidance for successful genealogy web searches are also provided.Spanish Genealogy Links
Links to help genealogists trace their Spanish ancestry.Swiss Anabaptist Genealogical Association
This organization provides databases to members interested in Swiss Anabaptist heritage.Ustica Genealogy Homepage
This web site represents an ongoing effort to translate, record, and link genealogic information for the families of Ustica, Italy, and their descendants in America. Provides indices of family surnames in Ustica and America, a list of the first inhabitants of Ustica, and references to Usticesi in the South.
For information on how to do genealogical research at the National Archives, please see the Genealogy page on the NARA web site.
Blogs
Facebook
Flickr
RSS Feeds
Twitter
YouTube
