Skip Navigation

Link to  the National Institutes of Health  
The Science of Drug Abuse and Addiction from the National Institute on Drug Abuse Archives of the National Institute on Drug Abuse web site
Go to the Home page

Director's Report to the National Advisory Council on Drug Abuse
May, 2002

Staff Highlights

Staff Honors and Awards

Dr. Ahmed Elkashef, Chief, Clinical Medical Branch, DTR&D, has received the Physician Researcher of the Year Award from the U.S. Public Health Service Commissioned Corps. The award recognizes his significant accomplishments in clinical trials research and administration. In a little more than two years since joining NIDA, Dr. Elkashef has fashioned both clinical pharmacology sites and a clinical trials group in the continental U.S. and Hawaii capable of performing studies of potential pharmacotherapies for the treatment of methamphetamine dependence. Dr. Elkashef has also provided substantial technical assistance to the Kingdom of Thailand in furtherance of their efforts to deal with a burgeoning epidemic of methamphetamine abuse and addiction.

On April 16, 2002, the following staff of OPRM's Grants Management Branch were honored by NIH at an Awards Ceremony held at the Natcher Building:

Deborah Wertz - Special Recognition Award - for her work on the development of an NIH Grants Management Training Seminar and for her other significant contributions to the work of the Grants Management Advisory Committee's (GMAC) Subcommittee on Training.

Daisey Parker - Letter of Appreciation - for her significant contributions in promoting the grants management profession as an active member of the Grants Management Professional Advocacy Committee.

Diana Haikalis - Letter of Appreciation - for her significant contributions in promoting the grants management profession as an active member of the Grants Management Professional Advocacy Committee.

Diana Haikalis - Letter of Appreciation - for significant contributions to the NIH Grants Guidance Subcommittee's activities.

Debra Battle-Dudley - Letter of Appreciation - for significant contributions to the IMPAC 2 Grants Management Lead Users Committee's activities.

Staff Changes

Charlotte Annan joined the Special Populations Office as a Secretary in April 2002. Prior to this position she served as Secretary to the Clinical Trials Network and to Dr. Frank Vocci, Division Director, DTR&D.

William Corrigall, Ph.D. joined the Division of Neuroscience and Behavioral Research (DNBR) as Chief of the Translational Research Branch on May 6, 2002. Dr. Corrigall will also serve as the Director, Nicotine and Tobacco Addiction Program for NIDA. Before coming to NIDA, Dr. Corrigall was the Director of Smoking and Nicotine Dependence Research at the Centre for Addiction and Mental Health at the University of Toronto, Canada, and has been a long-time NIDA-funded researcher. Dr. Corrigall obtained his Doctorate in Biophysics from the University of Western Ontario and did a Fellowship in Neuroscience at Albert Einstein College of Medicine. Since joining the Addiction Research Foundation at the University of Toronto (now the Centre for Addiction and Mental Health) he has also served, among other positions, as Head of the Behavioural Pharmacology Section, Chief, Preclinical Treatment Research Unit, and Director of the Biobehavioural Research Department.

Dave Daubert joined OPRM's Management Analysis and Services Branch (MASB) as the Deputy in March 2002. Before coming to NIDA, Mr. Daubert was a Budget Analyst with the Division of Intramural Research of the National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH), and has also held other administrative positions at NIMH. Dave has a degree in Management Technology from Montgomery College. As the Deputy of the MASB, he will assist the Chief in carrying out the many administrative functions of the Branch.

Ron A. Dobbins joined the CCTN as a program analyst in February 2002. Ron earned his Bachelor's Degree from Southern Illinois University in Health Care Management and is actively enrolled in the M.B.A. program at Mount Saint Mary's College. Prior to his arrival at the CCTN, he served as a Quality Assurance Representative and Maintenance Manager within the Clinical Engineering Division of Walter Reed Army Medical Center.

Susan E. Martin, Ph.D. joined NIDA's Division of Epidemiology, Prevention and Services Research as a health scientist administrator in February 2002. Previously she was a program director in the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA) where she managed that Institute's research programs on prevention of alcohol-related violence, unintentional injury and public policy; prevention of worksite alcohol-related problems; and alcohol and advertising. Prior to coming to NIH, she was a Study Director at the Police Foundation in Washington, DC and Director of the Committee on Law Enforcement and the Administration of Justice at the National Research Council. She holds a B.A. from Swarthmore College and Ph.D. in Sociology from American University. At NIDA she will manage the evaluation contract for the White House Office of National Drug Control Policy's National Youth Anti-Drug Media Campaign and grants focused on persuasive communications.

Dawn Rabunsky came to NIDA's Contract Management Branch as a Contract Specialist in February 2002. Prior to this time, she was a Contract Specialist in the Office of Research Services in the Office of the Director, NIH. At NIDA, as a senior contracting official, Dawn will handle a wide range of contracts and serve as a resource person for junior contracting staff.

Carol Cowell retired from her position in the Services Research Branch, DESPR, after more than 30 years of dedicated government service.

[Office of the Director][Report Index][Next Report Section]

Archive Home | Accessibility | Privacy | FOIA (NIH) | Current NIDA Home Page
National Institutes of Health logo_Department of Health and Human Services Logo The National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) , a component of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Questions? See our Contact Information. . The U.S. government's official web portal