Skip Navigation

Link to  the National Institutes of Health  
The Science of Drug Abuse and Addiction from the National Institute on Drug Abuse Archives of the National Institute on Drug Abuse web site
Go to the Home page

Director's Report to the National Advisory Council on Drug Abuse
May, 2001

Staff Highlights

Honors and Awards

Alan I. Leshner, Ph.D., NIDA Director, received the 2000 GEICO Public Service Award for outstanding contributions in the field of Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment.

Length of Service Awards

The following NIDA Intramural Research Program (IRP) staff members were presented with Length of Service Awards at an IRP All Hands Meeting held on April 17, 2001.

20 Years of Service
Dr. Steven Goldberg

10 Years of Service
Dr. Jean Lud Cadet
Dr. Carlo Contoreggi
Patricia Jemellaro
Leslie Johnson
Theresa Kopajtic
Rosemary Perrot
Carol Sneeringer
Eric Thorndike

Staff Changes

Blair Gately joined OSPC in March 2001 as the Deputy Press Officer in the Public Information and Liaison Branch. Ms. Gately has a Bachelor of Science degree in Journalism from the University of Maryland, a certificate in Public Relations from the University of Virginia, and has taken Science Writing courses at The Johns Hopkins University Graduate School of Arts and Sciences. Prior to joining OSPC, she worked at Voice of America and at NIH as a writer/editor for "The NIH Record" and as a Public Affairs specialist at the National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute.

Dr. Melissa Racioppo joined the Behavioral Treatment Development Branch, DTR&D, as a new Program Officer on February 26, 2001. Prior to coming to NIDA, Dr. Racioppo was working as a post-doctoral fellow at the University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine. Dr. Racioppo will be leading programs of research in the adolescent, family/couples therapy, group therapy, and criminal justice system areas.

Elaine Solano joined DESPR's Epidemiology Research Branch as a Secretary on March 25, 2001. Ms. Solano was formerly employed by the U.S. Department of Agriculture for ten years.

Robert Walsh, R.A.C. was promoted to Chief of the Regulatory Affairs Branch, Division of Treatment Research and Development, in January 2001. He has been with NIDA since 1987 when he joined the Research Technology Branch in the Division of Preclinical Research. Mr. Walsh ran the NIDA Drug Supply Program and was one of the founding members of NIDA's Medications Development Division. His current duties include insuring that the division's clinical trials are in compliance with applicable laws and regulations from NIH, DEA, FDA, OHRP and other governmental agencies. He is also currently the Study Director for the NIDA/VACSP #1018 Best Practices Trial exploring the use of buprenorphine in non-traditional settings.

Dr. Elizabeth Rahdert retired on March 30, 2001, after 15 years of working for the federal government. Dr Rahdert was responsible for leading a program of research on the treatment of adolescents.

[Office of the Director][Report Index][Next Report Section]

Archive Home | Accessibility | Privacy | FOIA (NIH) | Current NIDA Home Page
National Institutes of Health logo_Department of Health and Human Services Logo The National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) , a component of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Questions? See our Contact Information. . The U.S. government's official web portal