Skip Navigation

Link to  the National Institutes of Health  
The Science of Drug Abuse and Addiction from the National Institute on Drug Abuse Archives of the National Institute on Drug Abuse web site
Go to the Home page

Director's Report to the National Advisory Council on Drug Abuse
May, 2001

Grantee Honors

Dr. Kathleen Brady, Principal Investigator for the CTN's South Carolina Node, was selected as South Carolina Woman of Achievement Award recipient by Governor Jim Hodges of South Carolina. The Governor's Commission on Women hosted an awards ceremony on May 14, 2001, at the Governor's Mansion in South Carolina.

Dr. Ivy Carroll of Research Triangle Institute (RTI) in North Carolina will receive the 2001 Charles H. Herty Award, bestowed annually by the Georgia Section of the American Chemical Society, in recognition of his significant contributions in organic and medicinal chemistry. The most widely recognized contribution on which Dr. Carroll's award is based is the development of the 3-phenyltropane class of compounds as potential treatment agents for cocaine abuse.

Dr. Linda B. Cottler, Associate Professor of Epidemiology in Psychiatry, Department of Psychiatry, Washington University, received the Washington University School of Medicine Academic Women's Network Mentoring Award for Outstanding Mentoring. Dr. Cottler is the principal investigator for a NIDA funded Institutional Training Program in Drug Abuse Comorbidity and Statistics.

Dr. Murray Goodman, Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry at the University of California at San Diego, was awarded an Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award for 2001 by the American Chemical Society. The award is for advances made in the area of the synthesis of neuropeptides and peptidomimetics, including the use of constrained amino acids, in order to better understand opiate receptor conformations.

Dr. Michael L. Hecht, Department of Speech Communication, Pennsylvania State University, and his research team received the ITVA (International Television Video Association) Awards, Arizona Chapter, for Student Productions: Lavantate, Leave, The Ride, and Rechaza. These were four videos produced for a NIDA grant by South Mountain High School students.

Dr. S. Michael Owens, Professor of Pharmacology and Toxicology at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences' (UAMS) College of Medicine has been named to the University's Wilbur D. Mills Endowed Chair in Alcoholism and Drug Abuse Prevention for his extraordinary leadership in research, teaching and service. The endowed chair is the highest academic honor bestowed by UAMS in recognition of distinguished accomplishment and exemplary service. Dr. Owens' research program has been continuously funded by NIDA since 1986. The investiture ceremony will be held on May 24, 2001 in Little Rock, AR.

[Office of the Director][Report Index]

Archive Home | Accessibility | Privacy | FOIA (NIH) | Current NIDA Home Page
National Institutes of Health logo_Department of Health and Human Services Logo The National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) , a component of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Questions? See our Contact Information. . The U.S. government's official web portal