Skip Navigation Links  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
Geography and Map Reading Room (Geography & Map Division)
  Home >> Philip Lee Phillips Society
Philip Lee Phillips Society

Philip Lee Phillips Society

The Philip Lee Phillips Society has been established to further develop, enhance and promote the collections of the Geography and Map Division by encouraging financial donations to supplement appropriated funds for the acquisition of rare maps; stimulating interest among map collectors, map producers, geographers, cartographers, and historians in order to make the vast resources of the nation's premier cartographic and geographic collections more widely available; facilitating gifts and bequests of significant geographic and cartographic materials in order to further develop its collections; and advancing the Geography and Map Division's publication, education, and exhibition programs.

The Society is named in honor of Philip Lee Phillips (1857-1924), the first Superintendent of Maps when the Hall of Maps and Charts was established in 1897.

View the entire brochure as a pdf document. To print a membership application form and mail in.
You are now able to support the Philip Lee Phillips Society with an online donation.

To obtain membership and activities information of the Society please contact:
Ralph E. Ehrenberg
Chief, Geography and Map Division
p) 202/707-1992
f) 202/707-8531

PLP Conferences Philip Lee Phillips Society's annual conferences.

Steering Committee:

Academic Advisors:

George Tobolowsky, Texas (Chair) Ronald Grim, Boston Public Library
Dianne Powell, Texas (Vice Chair) Alice Hudson, formerly New York Public Library
Roger S. Baskes, Illinois Mark Monmonier, Syracuse University
Wesley A. Brown, Colorado Mary Pedley, University of Michigan
Joseph H. Fitzgerald, Florida Dennis Reinhartz, University of Texas - Arlington
William B. Ginsberg, New York Richard W. Stephenson, formerly Library of Congress
Robert A. Highbarger, Maryland Norman J. W. Thrower, University of California - Los Angeles
Arthur Holzheimer, Illinois Cordell D. K. Yee, St. John's College, Annapolis
Jay Lester, North Carolina  
Glen McLaughlin, California  
Kenneth Nebenzahl, Illinois  
Gary W. North, Virginia  
Seymour L. Schwartz, New York  
J. Thomas Touchton, Florida  
William Wooldridge, Virginia  

Ex Officio:

Ralph E. Ehrenberg (Chief, Geography and Map Division, 2011-present)
John R. Hébert (Chief, Geography and Map Division, 1999-2011)
John A. Wolter (Chief, Geography and Map Division, 1978-1991)
Top of Page Top of Page
  Home >> Philip Lee Phillips Society
  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
  November 20, 2012
Legal | External Link Disclaimer

Contact Us:  
Ask a Librarian