About the No FEAR Act

The Notification and Federal Employee Anti-discrimination and Retaliation Act of 2002 (No FEAR Act), (Public Law No. 107-174) was passed by both houses of Congress and was signed into law by President Bush May 15, 2002.

The No FEAR Act became effective on October 1, 2003.

The intent of the Act is to help ensure that federal agencies:

  • Pay more attention to EEO and whistle blower activities
  • Expeditiouslyto resolve complaints at the administrative level when appropriate

In addition, the No FEAR Act requires federal agencies to:

  • Notify employees and applicants for employment about their rights under the discrimination and whistleblower laws
  • Post statistical data relating to federal sector equal employment opportunity complaints on its public website
  • Ensure that managers have adequate training in the management of a diverse workforce, early and alternative conflict resolution, and essential communications skills
  • Conduct studies on the trends and causes of complaints of discrimination
  • Implement new measures to improve the complaint process and the work environment
  • Initiate timely and appropriate discipline against employees who engage in misconduct related to discrimination or reprisal
  • Reimburse the Judgment Fund for any discrimination and whistleblower related settlements or judgments reach in federal court
  • Produce annual reports of status and progress to Congress, the Attorney General and the U.S. Equal Employment Commission

Equal Employment Opportunity Data Posted Pursuant to the No Fear
(Notification and Federal Employee Antidiscrimination and Retaliation) Act of 2002

The following report as required by Title III, Section 301 of the No Fear Act is the summary statistical relating to equal employment opportunity complaints filed with the Department of Health and Human Services by employees or former employees of, or applicants for employment with the Department of Health and Human Services.

Report Index:  

  1. Complaints Activities
  2. Complaints by Basis
  3. Complaints By Issue
  4. Processing Time
  5. Complaints Dismissed by Agency
  6. Complaints Withdrawn by Complainants
  7. Total Final Action Finding Discrimination
  8. Findings of Discrimination Rendered by Basis
  9. Findings of Discrimination Rendered by Issue
  10. Pending Complaints Filed in Previous Fiscal Years by Status
  11. Complaints Investigations