WSCC Website Headers (1).png



The Women’s Suffrage Centennial Commission, the U.S. Capitol Historical Society, and the Kluge Center at the Library of Congress joined together for a six-part suffrage symposium which launched August 27, 2020. Each week for six weeks, the symposium, titled 100 Years of Women Voting, featured a panel discussion between the country's leading suffrage scholars exploring the impact of the 19th Amendment on women's political participation in the United States.

The symposium launched with an Opening Keynote from Christina Wolbrecht, professor of political science at the University of Notre Dame. Throughout the next month and a half, many distinguished speakers joined the weekly sessions to discuss the impact of women in American government and public life over the last century. On September 24, Commission Vice Chair Dr. Colleen Shogan joined the panel discussion on “Gender and Political Participation," along with Dr. Bettye Collier-Thomas, Dr. Kay Schlozman, and Dr. Catherine Wineinger. To conclude the series on October 1, 2020, Dr. Martha S. Jones of Johns Hopkins University gave the Symposium's Closing Remarks.

WSCC Vice Chair Dr. Colleen Shogan (top left), Dr. Bettye Collier-Thomas (top right), Dr. Kay Schlozman (bottom left), and Dr. Catherine Wineinger (bottom right)

WSCC Vice Chair Dr. Colleen Shogan (top left), Dr. Bettye Collier-Thomas (top right), Dr. Kay Schlozman (bottom left), and Dr. Catherine Wineinger (bottom right)


Opening Keynote
August 27 at Noon ET

Christina Wolbrecht
Professor of Political Science at the University of Notre Dame; Director of the Rooney Center for the Study of American Democracy; C. Robert and Margaret Hanley Family Director of the Washington Program

“Race and Gender in Politics: The Last 100 Years”
September 3 at Noon ET

Liette Gidlow
Harvard University and Wayne State University
Rep. Marcia Fudge
U.S. House of Representatives, OH-11
Andra Gillespie
Emory University
Cathleen Cahill
Penn State

“Diverse Voices from the Suffrage Movement”
September 10 at Noon ET

Jacqueline Jones Royster
Georgia Tech
Nancy Bird-Soto
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Lori Harrison-Kahan
Boston College
Elizabeth Novara
Library of Congress

“Women in Leadership”
September 17 at Noon ET

Hon. Jane L. Campbell
U.S. Capitol Historical Society
Hon. Cheryl L. Johnson
Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives
Hon. Mary Landrieu
Van Ness Feldman, LLP; U.S. Senate, LA, 1997-2015
Michele Swers
Georgetown University

“Gender and Political Participation”
September 24 at Noon ET

Colleen Shogan
David M. Rubenstein National Center for White House History
Bettye Collier-Thomas
Temple University
Kay Schlozman
Boston College
Catherine Wineinger
Western Washington University

Closing Keynote
October 1 at Noon ET

Martha Jones
Johns Hopkins University