Copy of WSCC Website Headers.png

book festival


The Library of Congress held its 20th annual National Book Festival through virtual stages from September 25-27, and the Women’s Suffrage Centennial Commission was a leading sponsor of the 2020 festival.

The all-digital format allowed attendees to experience events from their homes, and they could choose to follow “Timely Topic Threads” through specific online portals. The Commission sponsored the “Fearless Women” thread, featuring 24 authors during 20 programs, including discussions with former Secretary of State Madeleine Albright, U.S. Poet Laureate Joy Harjo, philanthropist Melinda Gates, and lawyer and disability rights advocate Haben Girma. Other remarkable authors on the trail included: Barb Rosenstock, Veronica Chambers, Deborah Hopkinson, Chelsea Clinton, Angela Dominquez, Kelly Yang, Pam Munoz Ryan, Lucinda Robb, Rebecca Boggs Roberts, Tonya Bolden, Carmen Maria Machado, Elizabeth Tallent, Erica Armstrong Dunbar, Gail Collins, Megan Twohey, Judith Warner, Esther Wojkicki, Rita Dove, Kali Fajardo-Anstine, and Mary Robinette Kowal. Members of the Commission joined featured authors on the “Fearless Women” virtual stage for author interviews, introductions, and moderated discussions. PBS stations also aired a special two-hour program on September 27 featuring author conversations from the National Book Festival.

J Newsom (1).jpg
C Shogan (1).jpg
Kay Coles James (1).jpg
Karen Hill.JPG
Laymon (1).jpg
Sen. Mikulski (1).jpg