Skip to main content

The Law Enforcement Accreditation Program was the first credentialing program established by CALEA. It was originally developed to address what was seen as a need to enhance law enforcement as a profession. That mission continues today with accreditation options for law enforcement agencies.

The CALEA Public Safety Communications Accreditation Program provides a communications center, or the communications unit of a public safety agency, with a process to systemically review and internally assess its operations and procedures.

The Public Safety Training Academy Accreditation Program began in 2002. Its purpose is to promote superior public safety training services and recognize professional excellence.

The CALEA Campus Security Accreditation Program is designed for educational campus security agencies or departments that primarily employ non-sworn security officers and identify themselves as a “campus security force.”

CALEA Gold Standard

The primary cornerstones that comprise
The CALEA Difference and distinguish
CALEA from all other forms of public
safety accreditation are professionalism,
stewardship, integrity, diversity,
independence, continuous improvement,
objectivity, credibility, consistency,
knowledge, experience, accountability
and collaboration.

Read More

The Commissioners

Ms. Debra Baker

Lieutenant Colonel (Retired)

New Jersey State Police

Dr. Theron L. Bowman

Chief of Police

Arlington (TX) Police Department

Prof. Gary W. Cordner

Kutztown University, Kutztown, Pennsylvania

Mr. Stephen DeBenedittis

Former Mayor

City of Herndon, Virginia

Mr. Louis M. Dekmar

Chief of Police

LaGrange (GA) Police Department

Mr. Joseph A. Farrow


California Highway Patrol

Mr. Curtis L. Holt

City Manager

Wyoming, Michigan

Mr. Don C. Hunter

Chief of Police

Marco Island (FL) Police Department

Mr. D. Ray Johnson

Chief of Police

Chesterfield (MO) Police Department

Dr. Gary J. Margolis

Chief of Police (Retired), University of Vermont

Managing Partner, Margolis, Healy & Associates, LLC

Mr. David T. Moore

Director of Public Safety

Monroe (NY) Community College

Mr. Richard W. Myers

Interim Chief of Police

Sanford (FL) Police Department

Mr. Daniel C. Parkinson

Chief of Police

Cornwall (ON) Community Police Service

Ms. Linda Pillo

Chief of Police

Bellevue (WA) Police Department

Ms. Julie J. Righter

Communications Coordinator

Lincoln (NE) Emergency Communications Center

Honorable James N. Robey


13th District of Maryland

Mr. J. Grayson Robinson


Arapahoe County, Colorado

Honorable Barton R. Voigt

Associate Justice

Wyoming Supreme Court

Mr. Thomas H. Warren, Sr.


Urban League of Nebraska

Mr. Craig Webre


Lafourche Parish, Louisiana

Ms. Lisa G. Womack

Chief of Police

Lakeland (FL) Police Department


AccreditationWorks! are first-hand testimonials of how CALEA Accreditation has benefited agencies and their communities. Read More

Lessons Learned and Emerging Issues

This section provides recent reports and publications for public safety agencies seeking contemporary information on emerging issues and research findings.

Marks of Excellence

The program seals of CALEA Accreditation are
reserved for use by those public safety agencies
that have demonstrated compliance with CALEA Standards and have been awarded CALEA Accreditation by the Commission.

Read More

Syndicate content