Skip to main content
State sealflag
Photo of Senator Mike Crapo

Senator Mike Crapo (R)
Hometown: Idaho Falls
Web Form


Idaho became the 43rd state in the Union on July 3, 1890. The state’s first two senators, George L. Shoup and William J. McConnell, took office on December 18, 1890. Idaho’s longest-serving senators include William E. Borah (1907-1940) and Frank Church (1957-1981). Among those who rose to leadership positions is James McClure, who served as Republican Conference chairman.

Additional State Information